11 States Assess Fees on EVs to Recover Lost Fuel Taxes

by | Dec 15, 2015

According to the Department of Energy (DOE) “Fact of the Week” program, 11 states nationwide currently are assessing fees on the owners of electric vehicles (EVs) in lieu of traditional fuel taxes.

Although the maintenance of America’s highways traditionally has been funded by a combination of federal and state taxes collected at the pump from the sale of motor fuels, that tactic will not work for EVs because they recharge at the plug. This has caused many states to rethink how funds are collected to support the highway infrastructure.

According to DOE Fact No. 901, Georgia has the highest annual charges of the states that have currently enacted fees for electric vehicles – at $300 for commercial plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs) and $200 for non-commercial PEVs.

Next down is Washington State, with $100/annually, due increase to $150 on July 1, 2016, for all PEVs that can travel 30 miles using only battery power.

Idaho already charges $150 to its PEV owners; and Idaho and North Carolina both impose fees of $100/annually. Missouri and Nebraska level out at $75/year; while Virginia collects $64 every 12 months.

Colorado and Wyoming PEV drivers pay $50 annually, while Oregon PEV owners get a bargain, at $43/year.

Stay Informed

Get E+E Leader Articles delivered via Newsletter right to your inbox!

Share This