Climate Leadership Award Winners Revealed

by | Mar 2, 2012

This article is included in these additional categories:

Twenty companies, including IBM, San Diego Gas & Electric, Port of Los Angeles, SAP and UPS, were named the winners of the inaugural Climate Leadership Awards by the EPA, the Association of Climate Change Officers (ACCO), the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES) (formerly the Pew Center on Global Climate Change), and The Climate Registry (TCR)

The awards, presented at the Climate Leadership Conference in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., recognize corporate, organizational, and individual leaders for their efforts to address climate change and reduce carbon pollution.

The winner of the Organizational Leadership award, IBM set a second-generation goal to reduce the GHG emissions associated with its energy use by 12 percent between 2005 and 2012. By 2010, IBM had achieved a reduction of 16.7 percent, as well as an energy conservation rate of 5.7 percent – surpassing its goal of 3.5 percent, the EPA said.

The agency said that these reductions came after IBM reduced or avoided GHG emissions by an amount equivalent to 40 percent of its 1990 emissions between 1990 and 2005. In 2010, IBM established environmental management requirements for 27,000 first-tier suppliers in over 90 countries.

San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) also won the Organizational Leadership award in recognition of 20 years’ worth of rebates and incentives to encourage consumers and businesses to implement clean energy programs, saving customers more than $900 million, the EPA said.

SDG&E has exceeded the 25 percent by 2016 renewable energy requirement established by the California Renewables Portfolio Standard, which also requires one-third of SDG&E’s electricity sales to be renewable energy by 2020. SDG&E added 14 renewable contracts and 1,250 MW of capacity to its portfolio to lead California in acquisitions of renewable energy, the EPA said.

Recognized for actively addressing emissions outside their operations, Supply Chain Leadership award winners are Port of Los Angeles, SAP and UPS.

The Port of Los Angeles prepares annual GHG inventories for its own emissions, and also conducts annual “expanded” reports on Scope 3 sources, including emissions for ships, trucks, and trains bound to and from the port’s terminals.

Since 2006, the Port has required all new and renewed leases to incorporate air emission controls and to conduct energy audits on terminal buildings to identify energy savings. Internationally, the Port played a role in the development of the World Ports Climate Initiative and the resulting free online resources: the Greenhouse Gas Toolbox, Carbon Footprinting Guide for Ports and Carbon Calculator.

Business software provider SAP earned its Supply Chain Leadership award for technology solutions that have helped more than 2,000 customers manage sustainability activities across the supply chain. In 2010, SAP energy management solutions for manufacturers helped customers avoid about 2.5 million tons of CO2 emissions while saving $470 million in energy costs, the EPA said.

Supply chain award winner UPS has focused on maintaining an efficient aircraft fleet and using low-carbon alternative fuels and vehicles, and participating in the development of scope 3 standards. In 2010, UPS avoided nearly three million metric tons of GHG emissions, the EPA said.

UPS became the first major logistics provider in the U.S. to offer customers the opportunity to purchase carbon offsets to reduce the impact of their shipping.  In 2010 and 2011, UPS matched $1 million in offsets purchased by customers, the EPA said.

Other Climate Leadership Awards were given to:

Excellence in GHG Management (Goal Achievement): Campbell Soup Company, Casella Waste Systems, Conservation Services Group, Cummins Inc., Fairchild Semiconductor, Genzyme, Hasbro, Intel Corporation, International Paper, and SC Johnson.

Excellence in GHG Management (Goal Setting): Avaya, Bentley Prince Street, Campbell Soup Company, Ford Motor Company, Gap Inc. and Ingersoll Rand.

And in other environmental awards news, several companies have announced that they are recipients of Energy Star accolades. The EPA, which runs the awards, won’t officially announce the winners until the ceremony on March 15. Winners revealed so far include:

Samsung Electronics: Partner of the Year, for product manufacturing
LG: Partner of the Year, for manufacture of energy-efficient products
GE Appliances & Lighting: Sustained Excellence Award, for the seventh consecutive year
Energy Inspectors Corporation: Sustained Excellence Award, for energy efficiency efforts
DirecTV: Award for Excellence, for energy-efficient product design
Lowe’s: Sustained Excellence Award in Retail, for leadership in selling energy-efficient products
Transwestern: Sustained Excellence Award, for sustainability practices and energy use reductions at managed properties
Saint-Gobain: Sustained Excellence Award, for energy management and GHG reductions
Hines: Sustained Excellence Award, for energy efficiency efforts
Northeast Retail Products Initiative, facilitated by Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships: Sustained Excellence Award, for energy efficiency efforts

Additional articles you will be interested in.

Stay Informed

Get E+E Leader Articles delivered via Newsletter right to your inbox!

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Share This